cog user

Order of the Blue Shield

The Order of the Blue Shield was founded on August 9, 1935 by a group of UCLA alumni whose goal was “to further UCLA’s interest and to guard the institution’s welfare”. Charter members included William C. Ackerman, Edward A. Dickson, Porter Hendricks, Robert W. Kerr, Robert Gordon Sproul and Ernest Carroll Moore. Members, representing eight decades of Bruins, includes alumni leaders, former Regents of the University of California and donors to key campus support groups.

Nomination for The Order of the Blue Shield requires sponsorship by a member, life membership in the UCLA Alumni Association and service to the university. The Order of the Blue Shield has three formal meetings annually on campus with dinner and featuring a guest speaker. The speakers, all prominent UCLA faculty and administrators, coaches and alumni, have included Nobel Laureates, Olympic Champions, Athletic Hall of Fame Inductees as well as UCLA Chancellors and University of California Presidents Robert Gordon Sproul, David Saxon and Robert C. Dynes.

In addition to our Mission Statement, the Order of the Blue Shield supports the UCLA Library. The UCLA Library is the core of UCLA and serves every student, alumnus, faculty and friend of UCLA.

2016-2017 Board of Directors:

President:  Larry Seigler ’59

Vice President:  Darryl Johnson ’70,

Secretary:  Jeff Drobman ’70

Treasurer:  Robert T. Harder ’91

Membership:  Chris Bradford ‘77

Historian:  Rafer Johnson ’59

Parliamentarian:  Craig Dixon ’49

Immediate Past President:  Duke Dulgarian ’84

Member-at-Large:  Bill Roen ’59