cog user

Class Notes

Breaking news of those breaking new ground

This is where we celebrate noteworthy achievements from fellow Bruins.
Here you can stay in touch, keep up and announce your own Class Note by submitting your story.

Harriette F. Williams ’52, Ed.D. ’73

Harriette F. Williams ’52, Ed.D. ’73, educator, member of the pioneer Flowers family of Los Angeles and the first African American president of UCLA’s Gold Shield Alumnae, passed away at her home on July 28. She was 88. The eldest daughter of Virginia Carter Flowers and Orlando Flowers, Harriette was born on July 18, 1930, […]

Read More

Norman E. Friedmann ’50, M.S. ’52, Ph.D. ’57

Visionary engineer and executive Norman E. Friedmann ’50, M.S. ’52, Ph.D. ’57, passed away July 24 at age 89. A lifelong UCLA supporter, Friedmann was a UCLA Foundation Trustee (1987-2006), endowed the Norman E. Friedmann Chair in Knowledge Sciences (1987), was the School of Engineering Alumnus of the Year (1973) and received the UCLA Distinguished […]

Read More

Kelly Lytle-Hernandez, M.A. ’00. Ph.D. ’02

Kelly Lytle-Hernandez, M.A. ’00. Ph.D. ’02, director of the UCLA Bunche Center for African American Studies, has won an American Book Award. Read the UCLA Newsroom article and the American Book Awards press release.

Read More

Andrew Choung, J.D. ’99

Andrew Choung, J.D. ’99 has joined the Los Angeles office of Lathrop Gage LLP as a partner in the firm’s intellectual property litigation practice. Choung’s primary focus is on high-tech, complex patent litigation and strategic counseling, including the development of licensing and monetization programs. He also handles patent trial and appeal board proceedings, such as […]

Read More >

Brian Casillas ’10

Brian Casillas ’10 has joined Fox Rothschild LLP as an associate in the firm’s Los Angeles office where he assists clients in a wide variety of labor and employment matters. While in law school, Casillas served as chief note and comment editor of the Loyola Law School Entertainment Law Review. He was previously a judicial […]

Read More >

Kathleen Gavelis Tobkin ’75

Kathleen (Kathy) Gavelis Tobkin ’75 of Orange passed away suddenly at the age of 64 on Aug. 17. A 1971 graduate of San Diego High School, she earned her bachelor of arts degree in economics at UCLA, where she met her future husband, chemistry major Henry Tobkin ‘75. They were married in December 1975. After […]

Read More >

Gordon Lindeen ’84

Gordon Lindeen ’84 was featured in Lund (Sweden) University’s alumni network blog, in which he reminisced about his experience in the University of California Education Abroad Program. Lindeen, who majored in physics and Scandinavian languages at UCLA, was interviewed for the article by fellow Bruin and UCEAP alumna Karen Paulson ’09, who now works at […]

Read More >

Brian Lewinstein ’16

The body of Brian Lewinstein ’16, who had been presumed dead after falling off a waterfall in Umpqua National Forest in southern Oregon on Aug. 12, was found by hikers on Sept. 13. Lewinstein was 23. Remembered by friends for his warmth, unselfishness and desire to right social injustices, Lewinstein had interned at Congressman Ted […]

Read More >

Ray de Leon ’90, Ph.D. ’98

Cal State Los Angeles recognized Ray de Leon ’90, Ph.D. ’98, for excellence in the classroom and service to the community during the 2018 University Fall Convocation. de Leon, a professor of kinesiology in the Rongxiang Xu College of Health and Human Services at Cal State LA, was one of four professors honored for excellence […]

Read More >

Cecil Bennett (“Ben”) Pascal ’49, M.A. ’50

Cecil Bennett (“Ben”) Pascal ’49, M.A. ’50, passed away March 24 at age 91. Pascal was Born in Chicago, IL, and moved with his family to Los Angeles when he was 11. After graduating from Belmont High School in 1944, Pascal served two years in the navy. Following the war, he began a life in […]

Read More >

James R. Wright, M.S. ’71

James R. Wright, M.S. ’71, a pioneer in the field of spacecraft orbit determination, passed away Aug. 2 at age 83. Click here to read a tribute from Wright’s former colleagues at Analytical Graphics, Inc.

Read More >
Load More