Since 1946, the Alumni Association has honored larger-than-life legends from Jackie Robinson and Carol Burnett ’54, to community heroes like Sister Diane Donoghue ’54 and Judge Ernest Hiroshige ’67. Past recipients of UCLA Awards have contributed significantly in their communities, distinguished themselves as public servants and volunteers, and set new standards of excellence in their profession or their alumni network.

Their hard work and integrity exemplifies what it means to be a True Bruin. You needn’t look too far to identify that individual who deserves a UCLA Award. Think of your network of Bruins and identify someone who stands out from the rest – someone you admire – for the passion they bring to their work, the commitment they have for a cause or their sustained success from doing what they love.

See the award categories and descriptions below and nominate a Bruin who deserves a UCLA Award.

The deadline to submit a nomination is Monday, Jan. 31, 2022.

All submissions are considered and reviewed by the UCLA Awards Selection Committee. Award recipients will be announced in March and honored in June at a formal ceremony before their family, friends and the UCLA community.

For questions, contact or visit

See Award Descriptions 

Edward A. Dickson Alumnus of the Year Award
The establishment of the Edward A. Dickson Alumnus of the Year Award is UCLA’s oldest and highest alumni tribute. This award has been bestowed annually since 1946 upon a distinguished alumnus in recognition of exceptional merit. In the words of Regent Dickson, the recipient is to be an individual who has rendered “a special and outstanding service to UCLA; or who, by personal achievement, has brought great honor and distinction to the University.”

Young Alumnus of the Year Award
Established in 2017, the Young Alumnus of the Year pays tribute to the superior achievements of young alumni (within 12 years of graduation from UCLA) in recognition of outstanding achievement and participation in UCLA organizations and events. This award is designed to recognize established and future leaders among UCLA’s young alumni who demonstrate leadership capability, exceptional achievement, innovation and commitment to the Bruin family.

UCLA Award for Professional Achievement
Established in 1962, the UCLA Award for Professional Achievement honors alumni with superior achievements in their field. Each recipient has a sterling record of distinguished career accomplishments and has set new standards of excellence to which others in their field may aspire. This alumnus is recognized as a leader, innovator and change maker. The length of their career is not a determining factor in deciding the awardee.

UCLA Award for Public Service
Established in 1982, the UCLA Award for Public Service honors alumni who may be singled out for their records of service in government or military. Each recipient must have distinguished themselves or the University in performance of elected, appointed, commissioned or non-commissioned positions local, national or international in scope, involved in addressing public sector governmental or military needs.

UCLA Award for Community Service
Established in 1967, the UCLA Award for Community Service honors alumni who have unselfishly and generously contributed their time and talents for the enrichment of others and the betterment of their communities. This award recognizes individuals who have given of themselves in support of various charitable, nonprofit and philanthropic organizations. In the instance where candidates are employed in community service-related professions, the individuals shall have an extraordinary record of service well above and beyond the job description of the position held.

UCLA Award for Alumni Volunteer of the Year
Established in 2015, the UCLA Award for Volunteer of the Year honors alumni who demonstrate loyalty, dedication and commitment to the UCLA community. It recognizes a volunteer whose contributions may include, but are not limited to, serving in a UCLA volunteer leadership position or exemplary involvement in UCLA organizations, programs and events.

UCLA Award for Network of the Year
Established in 2015, the UCLA Award for Network of the Year honors an alumni network with outstanding contributions to the UCLA community. A network’s organizational virtues should include strength in its formation, membership growth, retention and involvement, creative and quality programming, effective communications, successful fundraising initiatives and committed leadership. A network who receives this honor must have demonstrated support for the overall mission of UCLA: education, research and service.

Boxed_WhiteType_Alumni cog user CLOSE MENU