COVID-19 Updates – How You Can Help
cog user

Gold Shield Faculty Prize

An Award for Academic Excellence

To mark Gold Shield’s 50th anniversary in 1986, the members searched for a worthwhile gift for the University. A Special Projects Committee conceived the idea for the Gold Shield Faculty Prize, An Award for Academic Excellence. The goal was the development of a Prize that would provide recognition and reward to mid-level faculty in UCLA departments with undergraduate degree programs. This focus was selected because faculty in mid-career often do not receive the extra professional incentives available to distinguished senior faculty. Following a two-year campaign, the goal of $250,000 was reached and the Faculty Prize endowment was established in the UCLA Foundation. This endowment has since grown to more than $700,000.

The first Prize was awarded in 1986 and has been awarded biennially in amounts of approximately $30,000 to an outstanding UCLA faculty member. The award is to be used for scholarly purposes. The recipient is selected annually by a committee of peers appointed by the Academic Senate. This selection committee also includes a student and Gold Shield representatives. Recipients have demonstrated extraordinary accomplishment in undergraduate teaching and research or creative activity together with an acceptable level of public service within the university.*

In 2006, Gold Shield, with the encouragement of its past recipients, decided to offer the Prize annually, although it would still be a two-year prize. The purpose was to alternate between north and south campus with the awards, thus providing a more equitable distribution of recipients across the campus.

Gold Shield Faculty Prize Winners

2019 – Paul Barber, Ecology & Evolutionary Biology

2018 – Daniel Fessler, Anthropology

2017 – Daniel Blumstein, Ecology & Evolutionary Biology

2016 – Charlene Villaseñor Black, Chicana/o Studies and Art History

2015 – Neil Garg, Chemistry & Biochemistry

2014 – Brenda Stevenson, History

2013 – Luisa Iruela-Arispe, Molecular, Cell and Developmental Biology

2012 – Kevin Terraciano, History

2011 – Matthew Lieberman, Psychology

2010 – David Gere, World Arts and Culture

2009 – Robin Garrell, Chemistry, Biochemistry

2008 – Alicia Gaspar de Alba, Chair, Cesar E. Chavez Chicano Studies

2007 – William J. Kaiser, Electrical Engineering

2006 – Robert N. Watson, English

2004 – Andrea Ghez, Physics and Astronomy

2002 – Richard B. Kaner, Chemistry and Biochemistry

2000 – Utpal Banerjee, Molecular, Cell, and Developmental Biology

1998 – Bob Goldberg, Molecular, Cell, and Developmental Biology

1996 – Peter Narins, Physiological Science

1994 – Albert A. Braunmuller, English

1992 – J. William Schopf, Earth and Space Sciences

1990 – Jeffrey Alexander, Sociology

1988 – Patricia Marks Greenfield, Psychology

1986 – Michael E. Jung, Chemistry and Biochemistry

*For more information about the nomination process for the Gold Shield Faculty Prize:

Academic Senate Executive Office
University of California, Los Angeles
3125 Murphy Hall
Los Angeles, CA 90095-1408
Phone: (310) 825-3851
Fax: (310) 206-5273